SI SE PUEDE!!

THE RACE

WHERE do I even begin!?  If I haven’t already overwhelmed you enough with all this running talk-BEWARE-this post is only a continuation, but worth your while-Promise 🙂

After not having been able to run at my full potential since Spring Break, really, the thought of running a HALF MARATHON (21km/13.1miles)-my usual favorite distance to race-was quite daunting for me.  Not only had I not been able to run that distance since my last marathon training run when Sarah, Caroline, Connor, Daniel, and I ran to Saxpahaw (19 miles), but I have not ran in race (well disregarding the Cooper River 10km race I ran in April when I was injured…) since Cross Country season where we only ran 5km and 6km distances. The last half marathon I had run was in Chile, the week before I left in August, to return to the states. This race was sentimental for me because I had run in the exact same race, the year before, with Felipe, during my second week studying abroad. My goal was to get my personal record and everyone on the Nike team wanted me to win a “podeo.” Well despite the fact that this race was 75% hilly, including climbing the highest point (Cerro San Cristobol) in Santiago, I managed to get my personal record AND to win 2nd place over for women, only behind the famous Chilean marathon runner Natalia Romera. My coach and really good friend, Carlos Warnke, ran with me the entire way as my “pacer” and I owe my time to him.half in chileAnyways-with these experiences in mind, I was very nervous, yet very excited to run another half marathon-this time my first week in ARGENTINA and with my new friend Lucho-who was planning on running with me the entire way as well. We had planned on aiming for a time of 1:30:00 and although this time would seem reasonable to me normally, I was nervous I would not be able to maintain this pace for all 13.1 miles considering my stress fracture and not running for a couple of months.

I tried not to think about any of this, however, and to focus on the positives .This past week has inspired me to preserve as a runner always, wherever I am, whoever I am with, and to always do the best that I, individually can, at that moment. I was ready to race!!IMG_4088The night before was veryyyy disorganized as I tried to meet up with Carlos and the other Chileans who were going to be running. Lucho and 2 of his friends ventured with me in search for them and without any luck we ended up eating at 10pm, putting me back at my apartment at midnight when I had to wake up at 5am. THEN-long story short-I had to call the police at 3am because there is a bar under my apartment that plays music louder than I explain from 1am-5am every night…more to come on this later..

BUT despite all of these circumstances, I woke up at 5:00, met Lucho at 5:45 and  headed to the race downtown in Parque Palermo to unite with the 10,000 runners who were to run the NIKE WE RUN BUENOS AIRES HALF MARATHON. race2The event was HUGE-even though it was still pitch black out, the park was filled with tons of running groups, tons of people, music, lights, people. Although I was running (literally) on MAYBE 2 hours of sleep, I could not have been more pumped to RUN!IMG_4092

Due to Lucho’s awesome radio job, we were invited to enter the NIKE VIP tent where the elite runners and all of the Nike groups-including NIKE CHILE, could set, stretch, drink COFFEE, and have unlimited access to lots of yummy snacks both before and after the race. WOW I wish I could have a tent like this at every race!IMG_4102Distracted by so much excitement, before I knew it, it was time to line up at the start. Lucho and I entered the elite corral, on accident, and when the whistle blew we were OFF-FLYING.

I felt wonderful. Running next to Lucho, (a new really close friend), running at such a great speed (something I have missed terribly) and running in BUENOS AIRES (something I still cannot believe), made me feel like the luckiest girl in the world. It was these sensations that kept me going throughout the entire race.photoLucho’s watch died before the race even begin and I didn’t have time to change my watch from miles to kilometers so neither of us really knew how to pace each other…However, we kept each other distracted and motivated each other to keep running strong. At times I had to scream out loud “si se puede” in order to keep myself going. Lucho ran ahead of me for a few miles, which allowed me to keep my pace up, trying to catch up to him. Near kilometer 18km, I finally caught up to him and said “Corre conmigo, POR FAVOR!!” He responded “claro, vamos!!” We ran together for the next 2 kilometers but when we were approaching kilometer 20km I was more than ready to be DONE. I sped up, Lucho screamed “DALE” and I let my feet and legs carry me to the end. run!!Yes-there were ups and downs throughout the race, as there always is, but the whole experience can be described as unreal. I finished, just 30 seconds ahead of Lucho with a time of 1:29:14, passing our goal of 1:30:00. Although not a personal record, I never would have imagined running this fast after being injured, taking so much time off, and not training. To say the least, as I crossed the finish line and I was given a medal (later to find I won 12th pace for women, out of 10,000 runners!!!!), small tears of disbelief and happiness started dripping down my sweaty cheeks-not kidding. WOW what an awesome feeling it is impossible to describe in words…

I felt like a champion the rest of the day as I hung out in the VIP tent, caught up with Carlos, went to a Chilean rock concert and out for drinks with Carlos and my new Chilean friends, and as I went to bed (finally to sleep!!) that night.race6IMG_4113IMG_4114IMG_4131There are events, experiences, and feelings that are remembered for a lifetime and I know this experience will be kept in my head and my heart forever. IMG_4111

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment